Book One: What’s He Really Thinking?

What’s He  Really Thinking?
Paula Rinehart
Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson; Orignal edition (June 2, 2009)
Christian Living

Being part of a publisher’s book blogging program is one of the ways I am working on obtaining my goal of 30 books in the year I turn 30 (other options include the library, audio books {I mean come on I drive half my life}, and of course the splurge of buying a beloved book or being given a gift).  One of the book blogging clubs I belong to had an interesting title I just had to order to read:  “What’s He Really Thinking?”.  This just tickled all my psychology buttons as everyone who reads this blog will know is a key component of my mental workings.

I love Psychology and how the brain works.  Yes, I admit I am guilty of reading books such as “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus” and other embarrassing layman books for quick reads in the psychology world.  What I have found from these books has disappointed me.  Why?  Because in the end you lean back, close the book, and realize you just spent some priceless hours reading nothing buy common sense.  Sure there are a few facts and figures thrown in there that only research could tell  you, but in the end, if you look over at the love of your life you have to smile knowing you knew about 80% of what the book just told you.

This book however is different, this book is getting into how your man thinks and how you as a woman can show your understanding of his thoughts as a way of loving him.  Yes, us your power for good and not evil.  No, this is not a book on love languages (another psychology minded like book and feeling loved and appreciated), but rather a way to say, okay this is how my husband works, now how can I use this to understand him and how he loves me.  I don’t have to necessarily except this, but I can begin to start communicating this.

One example was how men are doers, and so many times we as women are racing around taking care of all the details of life (believing our husbands are leaving loose ends at every turn), but we don’t stop long enough to see that he washed our car.  Now this may seem small, or almost minute, but he is there to protect, to keep our cars in tune, our brakes working, our gas tanks filled.  He makes sure that we are supplied to continue on with our busy days when we are just too busy to take care of ourselves.  So yes, sometimes it feels like our men may be leaving little things such as getting our children dressed, or ordering pizza every time its his night to cooks, etc, but he is also there to pick up our wounded and broken pieces, or get this, keep us from having broken pieces, when we ourselves are too busy to care for ourselves.

Yes this book has the makings of a he said she said view point, but in the end its a book written by a woman, respecting a man, and showing that although his thoughts are different, they are equally as important and valuable to keeping our households running, and even more importantly, US as WOMEN running….we might be chicken with our heads cut off sometimes, but our men are there to carry our heads back to us when we are ready to finally take care of ourselves!.

Thank you Paula Rinehart for helping us take a moment to understand our men, and also understand how we as women can work with what our men are thinking and doing, not loosing site of our differences, but exploring how amazing God made each of us to work together with the uniquely opposite ways of thinking and doing.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson as part of their BookSneeze program. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

